Zwirner & Wirth opened at 32 East 69th Street on February 23rd, 2000, instituting a partnership between New York gallerist David Zwirner and London-based gallerist Iwan Wirth. The gallery occupies the first two floors of a townhouse at 69th Street and Madison Avenue, renovated in 1999 by Annabelle Selldorf of Selldorf Architects. Zwirner & Wirth operates in addition to two existing galleries: David Zwirner at 525 and 533 West 19th Street in New York, Hauser & Wirth Zürich at Limmatstrasse 270 in Zürich, and Hauser & Wirth London currently at two locations in London: 196A Piccadilly; and Hauser & Wirth Colnaghi at 15 Old Bond Street.

Galerie Hauser & Wirth was founded in Zurich in 1991 by its principals Ursula Hauser and Iwan Wirth. The gallery represents Louise Bourgeois, David Claerbout, Dan Graham, Rodney Graham, David Hammons, Mary Heilmann, Richard Jackson, On Kawara, Rachel Khedoori, Guillermo Kuitca, Maria Lassnig, Paul McCarthy, John McCracken, Christopher Orr, Raymond Pettibon, Jason Rhoades, Pipilotti Rist, Anri Sala, Wilhelm Sasnal, Christoph Schlingensief, Roman Signer, Tony Smith, Diana Thater, Jakub Julian Ziolkowski, and the estates of Eva Hesse and André Thomkins. Galerie Hauser & Wirth has presented exhibitions with the works of Egon Schiele, Nam June Paik, Francis Picabia, Bruce Nauman and Gerhard Richter, and has published numerous catalogues and monographs.

David Zwirner's downtown gallery, open since 1993, represents a stable of artists including Tomma Abts, R. Crumb, Stan Douglas, Diana Thater, Luc Tuymans, On Kawara, Neo Rauch, Yutaka Sone, Toba Khedoori, Jason Rhoades, Thomas Ruff, Raymond Pettibon, the estate of Gordon Matta-Clark, Francis Alÿs, Mamma Anderson, Michaël Borremans, Marcel Dzama, Isa Genzken, Raoul De Keyser, John McCracken, Jockum Nordström, Chris Ofili, Daniel Richter, Katy Schimert, James Welling and Christopher Williams. David Zwirner has exhibited the work of Sigmar Polke, Georg Baselitz, Gerhard Richter and in conjunction with Galerie Hauser & Wirth, Francis Picabia and Marcel Broodthaers.

Zwirner & Wirth exhibits modern and contemporary masters, with past exhibitions by Georg Baselitz, Bernd & Hilla Becher, Chris Burden, Joseph Beuys, Marlene Dumas, Dan Flavin, David Hammons, On Kawara, Martin Kippenberger, Konrad Klapheck, Agnes Martin, Gordon Matta-Clark, John McCracken, Juan Muñoz, Bruce Nauman, Raymond Pettibon, Claes Oldenburg, Blinky Palermo, Gerhard Richter, Thomas Ruff, Fred Sandback, Diana Thater, Richard Tuttle, Cy Twombly, Andy Warhol, John Wesley, Franz West, H. C. Westermann, Lisa Yuskavage, as well as group shows showcasing German painting, Surrealism in the 20th century, Minimalism from the 60s and 70s, Assemblage, contemporary sculpture, German and American Pop Art, and conceptual photography. Zwirner & Wirth also represents the Estate of Fred Sandback and the Estate of Al Taylor.

The gallery is open for viewing Tuesday through Saturday from 10 to 6. The staff may be contacted by telephone at 212-517-8677, by fax at 212-517-8959, or by email.

Kristine Bell, Director / Partner- kbell@zwirnerandwirth.com
Greg Lulay, Director- greg@zwirnerandwirth.com
Alexandra Whitney, Assistant Director: Research & Exhibitions- alexandra@zwirnerandwirth.com
Kelly Reynolds, Registrar- kelly@zwirnerandwirth.com
Lauren Knighton, Gallery Manager- lauren@zwirnerandwirth.com
Erin Pearson, Assistant Registrar- erin@zwirnerandwirth.com
Ashley Stewart, Gallery Assistant/Reception- ashley@zwirnerandwirth.com
Meghan Hill, Assistant to Kristine Bell – meghan@zwirnerandwirth.com
Sam Martineau, Head Art Handler – sam@zwirnerandwirth.com
James Morrill, Accounting/Controller – james@davidzwirner.com